Gluten Free Veggie-full Quinoa Salad

I went to Whole Foods yesterday, which is always a special treat for me!

I don’t just go there to grocery shop, I go there to eat!

I know, I know, I’m breaking the golden rule of healthy eating: Never go grocery shopping when you’re hungry!

But let me tell you my friend, those paninis are too difficult to refuse!

Ham, mango chutney and melted brie between two pieces of toasted ciabatta! Are you freakin’ kidding me??!!!

As I was slowly ascending to heaven with each bite, I couldn’t help but notice my gluten free husband eating his GF bread with cheese and quinoa salad.

Yes, he looked like he was enjoying it, but not nearly as much as I was enjoying mine. Not even close!

Don’t you worry, I was not bragging about how amazing my meal was during lunch. I was sitting there composed while my stomach was doing victory laps, and my taste buds were giving each other high fives.

Even though I felt like I was eating like a champion, I still felt the need to try a bite of my husband’s salad. After the mediocre bite, I thought to myself, “I can make this at home and probably could do a better job!”

And boy was I ever right! Below is my quinoa salad, which happens to be a scrumptious recipe! It ain’t no panini, but it’s better for you and will give the gluten free person in your life something to eat when they come over.

Veggie-full Quinoa Salad

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cucumber, chopped
  • 2/3 cup grape tomatoes, halved
  • Dressing: 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 cloves garlic, juice of one lime, salt and pepper to taste
  • feta cheese to your hearts delight

Directions:

  1. Prepare quinoa with chicken broth or water as per package directions. Let cool
  2. Mix black beans with red wine vinegar and salt and pepper.
  3. Add the rest of the chopped vegetables on top of black bean mixture.
  4. Make dressing: combine olive oil, garlic, lime, salt & pepper
  5. Add dressing and cooled quinoa to vegetables and mix
  6. Keep in fridge for at least 1 hour
  7. When reading to serve, mix in some feta cheese!

I don’t always use all those veggies but if you want to make it extra veggie-tastic, make as above and maybe even add some edemame!!

Leave a Reply

