BBQ worthy Potato Salad

Happy July 4th y’all!

I’m not American, but today is a happy day for me nonetheless because this is the first day it has actually been sunny so far this summer!

No I don’t live in the North Pole…although it felt like it 2 days ago! That’s right, I hauled out my winter quilt at bedtime.

So today when millions of Americans are attending a BBQ and getting their drink on, I am doing just the same…minus the drinking part. I don’t drink. Anyway…

It will be potluck style so I’m bringing a salad.The old fashioned potato salad.

Let me tell you a little secret!

I attended a BBQ one month ago where I had to bring a potato salad. I was so nervous because I had never ever made potato salad in my life and was serving it to experienced potato salad makers.

The night before my potato salad debut, my husband came home with a big a$$ bag of potatoes for $5.

What on earth am I going to do with all these potatoes! I only need 3 for juggling, what am I going to do with the 67 others??

So now, for every potluck, BBQ, birthday party or baby shower, I have been bringing potato salad just to get them outta my house.

In case you’re wondering…only 8 potatoes left! Wahooo!!!

I’ve been getting compliments on the potato salad so here ya go! Serves 8

Potato Salad

  • 8 medium potatoes cooked and diced
  • 1 1/2 cups mayo
  • 2 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp mustard
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 celery ribs, sliced
  • 1 cup onion minced
  • 5 hard boiled eggs
  • paprika
Directions:
  1. Boil peeled potatoes in salted water until done. Cool to room temperature. Then dice.
  2. Mix mayo, cider vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt, garlic powder, and pepper and add to potatoes.
  3. Add celery and onions and mix well.
  4. Stir in eggs.
  5. Sprinkle paprika on top.
Leave a Reply

