Potatoless Potato Salad

Potatoes are a dieter’s nightmare!

They are a complex carbohydrate that people call a vegetable and therefore assume are healthy!

Unfortunately you can do so many yummy things with potatoes! There’s fries, chips, mashed potatoes, hashbrowns, and I’m pretty sure potato salad is the only salad that will make a man drool!

A few weeks ago, at dinner time, I called my husband to the table and then placed a bowl in front of his nose!

“You made potato salad!” he said.

I said nothing. Side note: I had never ever made potato salad in my life.

After saying grace…

he took a huge spoonful and smiled…

then raised his eyebrows for a moment…

then smiled again.

“I don’t think these are potatoes!”

Ding ding ding! You are correct!

Let me introduce to you: Potatoless Potato Salad!

What is the replacement for potatoes??? Cauliflower!

Stop rolling your eyes!

Yes cauliflower is kinda gross, but not when you cook it and cover it with non or low fat mayo!

So go out and give it a try! Your love handles will thank me!

Potatoless Potato Salad

  • 1 1/2  heads of cauliflower, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • ½ cup chopped red onion
  • ½ cup celery chopped (1 long stalk)
  • ¼ cup red bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 Tbsp green pepper, chopped
  • 2 stalks green onion, chopped
  • 2 baby dill pickles, chopped
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
  • 1 Tbsp mustard (I favor dijon)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (I used non fat mayo)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • paprika
  1. Cook cauliflower and cool.
  2. Mix cauliflower with the rest of ingredients.
  3. Refrigerate until serving.
  4. Before setting it on the table, top with paprika
Leave a Reply

